European Diploma in Intensive Care Medicine

ESICM is the sole official provider of the European Diploma in Intensive Care (EDIC), its examinations and preparation.

Create/login to your profile

EDIC Objectives

The European Diploma in Intensive Care Medicine (EDIC) seeks to standardise education and training of quality intensive care across Europe and beyond. EDIC exams are meticulously developed and continuously updated to create standard exit exams which accurately reflect clearly-defined assessment goals and address the necessary skills, attitude, competencies and knowledge required for intensive care practice.

The awarding of a speciality exam in intensive care medicine (ICM) is a key component of ESICM’s education strategy, which aims to set a standard for entry into intensive care specialist practice in Europe. Many jurisdictions specify EDIC as a professional qualification in ICM and the increasing numbers sitting the exam also attests to its widening acceptance. Responsibility for the European Diploma in Intensive Care Medicine (EDIC) belongs with the Examinations Committee.

Exam dates

Spring Session 2023

EDIC Part I: Apr. 4, 2023 – Fully booked
EDIC Part II: May 23-24, 2023 – Fully booked

Autumn Session 2023

EDIC Part I: September 26, 2023 
EDIC Part II: November 21-22, 2023


Autumn Session 2023

EDIC Part I: May 9, 2023 (10:00am CET)
EDIC Part II: June 20, 2023 (10:00am CET)

In order to benefit from the ESICM Members rate, please make sure that your membership for 2023 is paid before applying for the exam.

For all queries: EDIC Secretariat.

The EDIC examinations are set out in two parts: Part I – the written exam and Part II – the oral/clinical case exam. The EDIC examination guidelines 2018 will provide you with information about the exam, as well as the requirements needed to sit the exam. Note: The updated guidelines according to the new formats of the exam will be available in the near future.

Registration Process


> Learn more

How to prepare
for EDIC


> Learn more

Part I


> Learn more

Part II


> Learn more