March 1, 2021

ESICM Research Awards 2021

Hear from our past awardees 


The ESICM Research Awards are funded to enable both young and established investigators and clinicians to carry out basic or clinical research projects and develop, acquire, and apply advanced research procedures and techniques in the area of intensive care medicine.

Each week, some of our past ESICM Research Awards recipients will provide more information and details about their research projects and the single awards.

Prof Anders Oldner, M.D. Ph.D., is a consultant intensivitst at Karolinska University Hospital, Solna (SE) and Adjunct Professor at Karolinska Institutet, Solna (SE). He has been a research group leader for several years, mainly focusing on studies in the fields of trauma and sepsis.

In 2019, he won the Established Investigator Award, which provides support for investigators who have already established their independent research programme in the field of intensive care and emergency medicine, and who can demonstrate a commitment to facilitate research training of young colleagues.

Prof Oldner’s study group included: Erik von Oelreich, MD; Mikael Eriksson, MD, PhD; Karl-Fredrik Sjölund, MD, PhD; Andrea Discacciati, PhD; Emma Larsson, MD, PhD from Karolinska University Hospital and Karolinska Institutet, Solna (SE).

The research aimed at describing opioid use after ICU admission, identifying factors associated with chronic opioid use after critical care and determining if chronic opioid use is associated with an increased risk of death.

The study was published in early February.

Watch the video to learn more about the Established Investigator Award Prof Oldner research project.

Do you also wish to apply to one of the ESICM Research Awards? Check our dedicated page for more information and apply by 1 May. 

Comment on this news