March 8, 2021

ESICM Research Awards 2021

Hear from our past awardees 


The ESICM Research Awards are funded to enable both young and established investigators and clinicians to carry out basic or clinical research projects and develop, acquire, and apply advanced research procedures and techniques in the area of intensive care medicine.

Each week, some of our past ESICM Research Awards recipients will provide more information and details about their research projects and the single awards.

Inès Lakbar is a resident in anesthesiology and intensive care medicine at the Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU), Toulouse (FR) and has been an ESICM member since she started her residency in 2015. She collaborates with Prof Leone and his team in Marseille on sepsis and septic shock. In 2019, she won the ESICM Levi-Montalcini Biomedical Sciences Award.

The award is named after Rita Levi-Montalcini, an Italian Nobel laureate.

She was awarded in 1986 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly with colleague Stanley Cohen for the discovery of nerve growth factor (NGF), which has provided a deeper understanding of medical problems like deformities, senile dementia, delayed wound healing, and tumour diseases.

Having faced many obstacles throughout her life, Levi-Montalcini spent the latter part of her career ensuring that other scientists had access to resources and support.

Inspired by her outstanding example, and true to the Society’s commitment to diversity and equality, ESICM has chosen to dedicate one of its awards to supporting young and talented female physicians/scientists who wish to kickstart their research career in the field of intensive care and emergency medicine.

Watch the video to learn more about the Levi-Montalcini Biomedical Sciences Award and Inès Lakbar’s research project.

Do you also wish to apply to one of the ESICM Research Awards? Check our dedicated page for more information and apply by 1 May. 


#IWD2021 #WomensDay #InternationalWomensDay #SeeHer

Comment on this news