February 22, 2021

ESICM Research Awards 2021

Hear from our past awardees 


The ESICM Research Awards are funded to enable both young and established investigators and clinicians to carry out basic or clinical research projects and develop, acquire, and apply advanced research procedures and techniques in the area of intensive care medicine.

Each week, some of our past ESICM Research Awards recipients will provide more information and details about their research projects and the single awards.

Dr Arnoldo Santos Oviedo is an intensive care specialist and PhD working at Hospital Universitario Fundación Jiménez Díaz in Madrid (ES). He combines clinical practice with basic and clinical research and is interested in healthcare technologies, patient monitoring, analysis of biological signals, and cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology.

He won the Professor Lachmann Award in 2020 with a project proposal on the Extended application of cardio-respiratory interactions for optimizing haemodynamic and respiratory management. With an international team spanning Spain, Sweden and Italy, the research will test in controlled experimental conditions a new method that allows tracking, describing and quantifying cardiopulmonary interactions. Some possible applications of this new technology are the estimation of pleural pressure changes from haemodynamic signals and fluid responsiveness predictions. The results of this project will allow going further in the pathway of the clinical application of this technology.

Watch the video to learn more about the Professor Burkhard Lachmann Award for Experimental Research and Dr Santos Oviedo’s research project.

Do you also wish to apply to one of the ESICM Research Awards? Check our dedicated page for more information and apply by 1 May. 

Comment on this news