ESICM Research Award Winners 2012

ESICM Young Investigator Award

Dr Lieuwe BOS (The Netherlands)

"Headspace analysis of airway fluid samples for the prediction of ventilator-acquired pneumonia"


ESICM Established Investigator Award

Dr Can INCE (The Netherlands)

"Use of contrast enhanced ultrasound (CEUS) to identify early microcirculatory alterations associated with the development of AKI in critically ill patients: A validation study"


ESICM Clinical Research Award

Dr Dominique BENOIT (Belgium)

"Disproportionate care in the ICU: Impact for the patient, the family, healthcare providers and the society"

Dr Benoît MISSET (France)

"Prevention of ventilator-associated pneumonia by continuous tracheal cuff pressure control systems: The randomized control NoLeak Study"


ESICM Basic Science Award 

Dr Rick BEZEMER (The Netherlands)

"Renal microvascular and mitochondrial oxygenation assessed quantitatively during the development of sepsis-induced acute kidney and fluid therapy"

Dr Arnaldo SANTOS OVIEDO (Spain)

"Haemodynamic effect of lung function optimisation in Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (HEARDS)"

ESICM Levi-Montalcini Biomedical Sciences Award

Ms Danielle BEAR (United Kingdom)

"Effect of continuous haemofiltration on essential nutrients in critically ill patients with acute kidney injury"



BERNHARD DRÄGER Award for advanced treatment of ARF

Dr Massimo CRESSONI (Italy)

""Stress raisers" in acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome"


Nestlé Award for Practice Improvement in ICU Nutrition

Dr Olav ROOYACKERS (Sweden)

"Can ICU patients utilise extra amino acids to build new proteins?"