ESICM Research Award Winners 2011

ESICM Young Investigator Award

Dr Jurjan AMAN (The Netherlands)

"Treatment of pulmonary oedema with the anticancer drug imatinib - identification and targeting of signaling pathways in pulmonary vascular leakage"


ESICM Established Investigator Award

Dr Alain RUDIGER (Switzerland)

"Organ protection with beta-blockers in sepsis"


ESICM Clinical Research Award

Dr Eric HOSTE (Belgium) - PROFILE

"Prevalence in Europe of acute and chronic kidney disease in the ICU environment (PEACE)"

Dr Alexis TABAH (France)

"Epidemiology and determinants of outcome of hospital-acquired bloodstream infections in intensive care units: The EUROBACT study"


ESICM Basic Science Award 

Dr Julia WENDON (United Kingdom)

"Endotoxin tolerance and sepsis in acute liver failure syndromes"

Dr Katie LANE (United Kingdom)

"How does acute kidney injury alter hepatic drug metabolism in the critically ill?"


ESICM Levi-Montalcini Biomedical Sciences Award

Dr Fabienne VENET (France)

"Recombinant human ILL-7 in the treatment of sepsis: Preclinical study in patients and animal models of sepsis"




BERNHARD DRÄGER Award for advanced treatment of ARF

Dr Thomas MUDERS (Germany)

"Intra- and postoperative titration of positive end-expiratory pressure (PEEP) using electrical impedance tomography (EIT)"